Student winners announced in architectural composites competition

The Ashland-sponsored competition asked students to consider the development of a composite architectural/building component or assembly. Winners came from UCLA, Temple and Georgia Tech.

In the lead-up to the American Institute of Architects Expo (AIA, May 19-21), the American Composites Manufacturers Assn. (ACMA, Arlington, VA, US) asked student teams to participate in the Composites in Architecture Design Challenge. The student were asked to consider the development of a composite architectural/building component or assembly that operates in a systemic way. The teams were free to imagine and interpret uses, and strong integration with other more normative building systems was expected.

To facilitate the challenge, the ACMA conducted a workshop for the participating students that included a series of seminars and hands-on activities that introduced various considerations, ranging from material selection, mechanical properties, production techniques and safety.

The 15 student teams from four prominent universities presented their concept designs in early April, and a team of experts from the composites and architectural community selected several of these teams to showcase their designs at the AIA Expo in Philadelphia. The selected teams will be displayed in the, booth #2401. The two top teams will be awarded cash prizes, sponsored by resin manufacturer Ashland Performance Materials (Columbus, OH, US). These will be presented in the ACMA’s Composite Pavilion, Composites Central booth #2407, during the show.

The distinguished panel of experts consisted of: 

  • Billie Faircloth — Kieran Timberlake
  • Jason Vollen — AECOM
  • Steven Van Dyck — LMN Architects
  • Tom Wiscombe — Tom Wiscombe Architecture
  • Jefferson Ellinger — E/Ye Design
  • Bill Kreysler — Kreysler and Associates
  • Kevin Lambrych — Ashland, Inc.
  • Kevin Spoo — Owens Corning
  • Neil Smith — Composites One

The top designs, as chosen by the panel, were:

The following teams were received an Honorable Mention award from the panel: