SME names 2015 Award of Merit winners

Annual recognition program recognizes five members for volunteerism, leadership and contributions to manufacturing.

SME (Dearborn, MI, US) has selected five members to receive its 2015 Award of Merit. This award is given to SME members who, through their leadership and volunteerism, have grown their local chapters, introduced and promoted specific manufacturing technologies to a broader audience, and mentored and interacted with young people to promote the importance of manufacturing.

“This year’s award recipients have demonstrated their commitment to SME and its vision, mission and purpose,” said 2015 SME President Wayne F. Frost. “Their dedication to SME is unparalleled and illustrates how our members help set SME apart from other organizations.”

2015 SME Award of Merit recipients include:

  • Louis C. “Lou” Dorworth, Abaris Training Resources Inc., Reno, Nevada.
  • Edward G. "Ed" Halloran, LSME, CMfgE, PE, HALCO Management Systems, Langley, Washington.
  • You-Min Huang, PhD, Department of Mechanical Engineering, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taipei, Taiwan.
  • Don Patz, Patz Technical Services Inc., Seminole, Florida.
  • Jerry R. Walters, Retired, Franklin, Tennessee.

Since the award’s establishment, more than 500 SME members have received the Award of Merit. To be considered for this particular award, the individual must be a member in good standing and have had a minimum of six years of membership service in SME. Members are typically nominated by a local SME chapter and/or Technical Community. The 2015 awardees will receive their awards at a local chapter event and/or at an SME event of their choosing.

To nominate an SME member for this award or for additional details, visit Nominations are accepted annually by Aug. 1.

SME is a non-profit membership organization that has pursued its goal to advance manufacturing for over 80 years. Its focus areas include Aerospace & Defense, Energy, Medical, Motorized Vehicles and Workforce Development. It supports composites through its annual AERODEF Manufacturing/Composites Manufacturing conference (April 20-23, 2015, Dallas, TX, US), composites webinars, Excellence in Composites awards, technical papers and educational programs.