Award-winning Tecnam P Twenty Ten achieves EASA Certification

New general aviation aircraft features carbon fiber prepreg fuselage and expansive cabin.

Costruzioni Aeronautiche TECNAM S.r.l. (Capua, Italy) claims its P Twenty Ten to be the first new single engine, high wing, four-seat,  aircraft to achieve CS23 Certification with the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA, Cologne, Germany) in many decades. The Tecnam P Twenty Ten combines a prepeg carbon fiber fuselage with a metal wing and stabilator/rudder for reportedly optimized aerodynamic quality and reliability.

It also incorporates an advanced high wing, an expansive cabin featuring ergonomic forward and rear seats with exceptional legroom, and a large separate third entry door. The wide composite cabin allows for a large instrument panel with three avionics options; analogue IFR, a Garmin G500 IFR or twin-screen Garmin G1000 IFR with integrated GFC700 autopilot.

The achievement of EASA CS 23 Certification was the result of extensive investment and the dedicated effort of all members of the Tecnam organization.  The certification program included over 200 hours of test flights, more than 100 spin configurations, lightning tests on full scale assemblies and many other technological achievements.

Peter Collins, Test Pilot from Flightglobal said “The P2010 impressed me from the outset. It looks, feels and flies like a modern aircraft and does represent a step change in this type of four-seat GA aircraft design. I believe the Tecnam P2010 significantly exceeds the “flyability”, “useability” and “survivability” of the Cessna Skyhawks and Skylanes and equals them on affordability. The P2010 was genuinely a real pleasure to fly and future owners will be inspired by the aircraft’s combination of advanced avionics, very short field performance, exceptional useful load capability and excellent cross-country range. If I could trade my own Piper Arrow IV Turbo, the P2010 is the aircraft I would buy”.

Tecnam reports that deliveries to the Czech Republic, France, Poland, UK and Spain will commence immediately.